The Fourth Asian Workshop on
Symmetric Key Cryptography - Cryptology School


19-22, December 2014, SETS Chennai

The Asian Workshop on Symmetric Key Cryptography aka ASK is a pioneering initiative by like minded scientists whose aim is to promote research on symmetric key cryptography, which includes research on various cryptographic primitives like block ciphers, stream ciphers, hash functions, analysis, designs, proofs and implementations of these primitives etc. This time ASK is coming to Chennai,India. The workshop will be held inside the campus of Society for Electronic Transaction and Security (SETS) on 19,20,21 and 22 December,2014 . The workshop is cosponsored by International Association of Cryptologic Research (IACR).

The program will follow the design of the past ASK workshops containing two parts, invited talks and group discussions. ASK 2014 targets active students and young researchers in the field of cryptography to learn and collaborate in small interest groups. There is no participation fee, interested researchers are welcome to attend the workshop. PhD, master and bachelor students please visit our registration page for information about registering for the workshop. We regret to inform you that we cannot provide any funding to cover your travel cost. There is however limited funding available to support partial travel costs of some graduate students. This funding will be given on a case by case basis, it is not guaranteed that every student applicant will receive funding. Please scroll down to know more about the Invited Speakers, Venue, Accommodations, Travel, Proposed Program and Groups for afternoon sessions.

ASK 2013

Shangdong University, China
Website


Register

Thanks for your overwhelming response. Registrations are now closed. List of selected applicants is available here.


Partial travel and accommodation support

Indian participants: Please see the list linked above to know if you have received the stay and/or travel support.

Foreign participants: Those selected for any support should have already received our mail.


Confirmed Invited Speakers


Organizing Committee


Contacts

Program Chairs

Program

Friday, December 19 @ SETS seminar hall
08:30 - 09:30 Registration
09:30 - 10:15 Inauguration.
10:15 - 10:45 COFFEE BREAK
10:45 - 11:30 Thomas Peyrin: TWEAKEY Schedules and Application to Authenticated Encryption
11:30 - 12:45 Nicky Mohua: Chaskey: How to Build Secure Crypto When AES is Ten Times Too Slow
12:45 - 2:00 LUNCH BREAK
2:00 - 3:15 Florian Mendel: Malicious SHA-1
3:15 - 3:45
COFFEE BREAK
3:45 - onwards Groups Session 1

 

Saturday, December 20
09:00 - 10:00 Meiqin Wang: Statistical Integral Distinguisher and Its Applications
10:00 - 10:30
COFFEE BREAK
10:30 - 11:45 Victor Lomne: Introduction to Physical Cryptanalysis
11:45 - 1:00 Subhamoy Maitra: Analysis of Salsa20
1:00 - 2:30 LUNCH BREAK
2:30 - 4:00 Groups Sessions
4:00 - 4:30
COFFEE BREAK
4:30 - Onwards Groups Sessions

 

Sunday, December 21
09:00 - 10:15 Mridul Nandi: An overview of Authenticated Encryption
10:15 - 10:45
COFFEE BREAK
10:45 - 12:00 Kazuhiko Minematsu: Design approach to efficient blockcipher modes
12:00 - 12:45 Jeremy Jean: Cryptanalysis of Streebog, the new Russian hash function standard
12:45 - 2:30 LUNCH BREAK
2:30 - 4:00 Groups Sessions
4:00 - 4:30
COFFEE BREAK
4:30 - Onwards Groups Sessions

 

Monday, December 22
09:00 - 10:15 Shoichi Hirose: Forward-Secure Sequential Aggregate Message Authentication Revisited
10:15 - 10:45
COFFEE BREAK
10:45 - 12:00 Yu Sasaki: How to Incorporate Associated Data in Sponge-Based Authenticated Encryption
12:00 - 1:15 Ivica Nikolic: New techniques of cryptanalysis and their application
1:15 - 2:30 LUNCH BREAK
2:30 - 3:45 Jian Guo: Recent Advances in Analysis of HMAC
3:45 - 4:15 Closing Ceremony
4:15 - Onwards COFFEE BREAK ,Certificate distributions, Travel reimbursements

Groups for Afternoon Sessions

The groups are as follows:

  • Group 1: Santanu Sarkar and Subhamoy Maitra "Cryptanlysis of Salsa20"
    •              Mahesh Babu B maheshbabu.bondada@gmail.com
    •              Arpita Mazumdar arpitamazumdar.hit@gmail.com
    •              Bhagwan Bathe bathebn@barc.gov.in
    •              Snehal Mitragotri emsnehal@gmail.com
    •              Ashwin Jha ashwin.jha1991@gmail.com
  • Group 2: Sourav Sengupta and Mridul Nandi : "Analysis of Authenticated Encryption submissions at CAESAR"
    •              Huan Nguyen nhuhuan@yahoo.com
    •              Bhupendra Singh bhusingh21@yahoo.co.in
    •              Susil Kumar Bishoi skbishoi@gmail.com
    •              Md Iftekhar Salam mdiftekhar.salam@hdr.qut.edu.au
    •              Nilanjan Datta nilanjan_isi_jrf@yahoo.com
    •              Avik Chakraborti avikchkrbrti@gmail.com
    •              Tarun Kumar Bansal tarunb@iiitd.ac.in
  • Group 3: Nicky Mohua: "Automated Techniques for Symmetric-Key Cryptanalysis."
    •              Senyang Huang xiaohuangbuct@gmail.com
    •              Jitendra Franciss Sadangi jitenmath@gmail.com
    •              Ambrish Awasthi ambrishawasthi@yahoo.com
    •              Kalyanjit Chattopadhyay kalyanjit_chattopadhyay@yahoo.com
    •              Maheswara Rao Valluri v.rao@live.com
    •              Monika Singh monikas@iiitd.ac.in
    •              Ritobroto Maitra ritobrotomaitra@gmail.com
  • Group 4: Ivica Nikolic "Cryptanalysis of block ciphers"
    •              Somitra Sanadhya somitra@iiitd.ac.in
    •              Abhishek Kumar abhishekk@iiit. ac.in
    •              Narmadha narmadha.saran@gmail.com
    •              Manoj Kumar mktalyan@yahoo.com
    •              Ali M. Alsharani amsals@essex.ac.uk
    •              Hetal Borisagar hetalunique@gmail.com
  • Group 5: Jeremy Jean: "Block cipher cryptanalysis"
    •              Mohona Ghosh mohonag@iiitd.ac.in
    •              Khushboo Bussi sonabussi@hotmail.com
    •              Mukesh Kumar mkv.mukeshverma@gmail.com
    •              Sujatha ece.sujatha@velammal.edu.in
    •              Yogesh Kumar yogesh_lather@yahoo.co.in
  • Group 6: Yu Sasaki : "Cryptanalysis of CAESAR candidates"
    •              Wei Wang weiwangsdu@sdu.edu.cn
    •              Dhiman Saha saha.dhiman@gmail.com
    •              Prasanth Thandra prasanth@igcar.gov.in
    •              Qingju Wang qingju.wang@esat.kuleuven.be
    •              Megha Agrawal meghaa@iiitd.ac.in
    •              Kunwar Singh kunwar2081@gmail.com
  • Group 7: Gautham Sekar: "Password hashing competition" and "Caesar competition"
    •              Deepak Sharma deepak.sharma.cse12@iitbhu.ac.in
    •              Mabin Joseph mebinjp@gmail.com
    •              Amit Jana janaamit001@gmail.com
    •              Sweta Mishra swetam@iiitd.ac.in
    •              Swaminathan Ramesh swaminathan.v.ramesh@gmail.com
    •              Avesh Rai aveshraidreamy@gmail.com
    •              Harish Sahu harish.sahu@gmail.com
  • Group 8: Victor Lomne : "Physical Cryptanalysis" (side channels etc.)
    •              Nalla Anandakumar nallananth@gmail.com
    •              Dillibabu Shanmugam dillibabu@setsindia.net
    •              Ravikumar ravikumar@setsindia.net
    •              Suganya Annadurai asuganya@setsindia.net
    •              Arpan Jati arpanj@iiitd.ac.in

 


Sponsors


Site Designed by: Akshay Gupta at IIIT-Delhi.